

REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES INTER-AGENCY TASK FORCE FOR THE MANAGEMENT OF EMERGING INFECTIOUS DISEASES

RESOLUTION NO. 23 Series of 2020 April 13, 2020

RECOMMENDATIONS RELATIVE TO THE MANAGEMENT OF THE CORONAVIRUS DISEASE 2019 (COVID-19) SITUATION

WHEREAS, on March 8, 2020, recognizing that the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) pandemic requires the mobilization of a whole-of-government response, President Rodrigo Roa Duterte declared a State of Public Health Emergency in the entire Philippines through Proclamation No. 922;

WHEREAS, on March 16, 2020, to prevent the sharp rise of COVID-19 cases in the country, the President placed the entirety of Luzon under Enhanced Community Quarantine until April 12, 2020;

WHEREAS, to mitigate and contain the transmission of COVID-19, and to mobilize the provision of basic necessities to sectors adversely affected by the Enhanced Community Quarantine, Congress enacted Republic Act No. 11469, or the "*Bayanihan* to Heal as One Act";

WHEREAS, on April 7, 2020, upon the recommendation of the IATF, the President extended the implementation of the Enhanced Community Quarantine over the entirety of Luzon until April 30, 2020;

WHEREAS, as of April 13, 2020, there are four thousand nine hundred and thirty-two (4, 932) confirmed COVID-19 cases in the Philippines.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, as it is hereby resolved, that the IATF approves the following:

A. All medical and allied healthcare professionals with perfected and signed overseas employment contracts as of March 8, 2020 shall be allowed for deployment abroad as an exception to the application of the Philippine Overseas Employment Administration (POEA) Governing Board Resolution No. 09, series of 2020, upon the execution of a *Declaration* signifying their knowledge and understanding of the risks involved as advised by the Philippine Government.

Subject to the evaluation of the Department of Budget and Management (DBM), the Department of Health (DOH) is directed to facilitate the emergency hiring of additional healthcare workers to assist in the local healthcare system;

B. The following recommendations of the National Task Force (NTF) COVID-19 as revised and presented are hereby approved;



- 1. Designating the Chairperson of the Metro Manila Development Authority and the Chief Minister of the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao as chair of the Regional Task Force in their respective regions as established pursuant to IATF Resolution No. 16, series of 2020. For all other regions, the Office of Civil Defense through its regional offices shall act as chair; and
- 2. Establishing a Sub-Task Group (STG) for the Repatriation of Overseas Filipino Workers (OFWs) under the NTF Task Group on Response Operations to facilitate and implement the mandatory fourteen-day facility quarantine requirement of all repatriated OFWs, whether sea-based or land-based. For this purpose, a one-stop-shop shall be established and maintained at the port of entry. The STG shall be composed of the Department of Transportation (DOTr) as chair the Overseas Workers Welfare Administration (OWWA) as co-chair, and the DOLE, DOH, the Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA), the Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG), the Philippine National Police, the Department of Tourism (DOT), the Philippine Coast Guard (PCG), the Bureau of Quarantine (BOQ), and such other agencies as may be determined by the NTF, as members.

The Department of Health is hereby directed to update its guidelines for this purpose.

- C. Pursuant to the updated guidelines of DOH on the classification of individuals for the surveillance and management of the COVID-19 health event, all agencies and Local Government Units (LGUs) are directed to apply said classification in all subsequent issuances related to COVID-19, as well as to update existing issuances in accordance therewith;
- D. The evaluation tool for the assessment of the demographic vulnerabilities of communities to the COVID-19 health event, as presented by the Commission on Population (POPCOM), is hereby adopted. LGUs, including the BARMM, are enjoined to implement such tool to assess communities in their respective jurisdictions, subject to guidelines as may be jointly issued by the DOH, DILG, National Economic and Development Authority (NEDA), and the POPCOM;
- E. The Philippine Embassy in Kuala Lumpur is directed to coordinate with the Sabah National Security Council (SNSC) for the requested return of stranded thirty-eight (38) Malaysian nationals to Sandakan. In the meantime, the DFA is directed to submit



the information of the Malaysian nationals to the National Intelligence Coordinating Agency (NICA); and

F. The Interim Guidelines for the Granting of Special Authorization for the Limited Practice of Medical Graduates as presented by the DOH is hereby adopted. *Provided*, that special authorizations shall only be issued as a last resort. *Provided*, *further*, that any authorization shall only be effective for the duration of the State of Public Health Emergency in the Philippines unless earlier withdrawn by the IATF upon recommendation of the DOH.

APPROVED during the 23rd Inter-Agency Task Force Meeting, as reflected in the minutes of the meeting, held this 13th of April, 2020 *via* video conference.

FRANCISCO T. DUQUE III

Secretary, Department of Health

EDUARDO M. AÑO

Secretary, Department of the Interior and Local Government

BERNADETTE ROMULO-PUYAT

Secretary, Department of Tourism

SILVESTRE H. BELLO III

Secretary, Department of Labor and Employment

MENARDO I. GUEVARRA

Secretary, Department of Justice



RESOLUTION NO. 23 Series of 2020 April 13, 2020

GREGORIO B. HONASAN II

Secretary, Department of Information and Communications Technology

TEODORO LOCSIN, JR.

Secretary, Department of Foreign Affairs

ARTEMIO U. TUAZON Undersecretary, Department of Transportation

Conforme:

KARLO ALEXEI B. NOGRALES

Cabinet Secretary, Cabinet Secretariat of the Philippines

HERMOGENES C. ESPERON

Secretary, National Security Council

CARLITO G. GALVEZ JR.

Secretary, Office of the Presidential Adviser on the Peace Process

JOSE RUPERTO MARTIN M. ANDANAR

Secretary, Presidential Communications Operations Office



RESOLUTION NO. 23 Series of 2020 April 13, 2020

RAMON M. LOPEZ

Secretary, Department of Trade and Industry

WILLIAM D. DAR

Secretary, Department of Agriculture

ROY A. CIMATU

Secretary, Department of Environment and Natural Resources

LEONOR M. BRIONES

Secretary, Department of Education

DELFIN N. LORENZANA

Secretary, Department of National Defense

ADORACION M. NAVARRO

Undersecretary, National Economic and Development Authority

BAYANI H. AGABIN

Undersecretary, Department of Finance

DANILO G. PAMONAG



Undersecretary, Department of Social Welfare and Development

RICARDO P. BERNABE III

Undersecretary, Office of the Executive Secretary

DARREN L. SALIPSIP

Assistant Secretary, Office of the Chief Presidential Legal Counsel

ROLANDO U. TOLEDO

Assistant Secretary, Department of Budget and Management

RICARDO B. JALAD

Administrator, Office of the Civil Defense

ARCHIE FRANCISCO F. GAMBOA

Chief, Philippine National Police

FELIMON T. SANTOS, JR.

Chief of Staff, Armed Forces of the Philippines

JOEL S. GARCIA



RESOLUTION NO. 23 Series of 2020 April 13, 2020

Comm\nt, Philippine Coast Guard

DANILO D. LIM

Chairman, Metro Manila Development Authority

JEREMIAH B. BELGICA

Director-General, Anti-Red Tape Authority